top of page
339076527_901874104360152_2671916820891768085_n.jpg

About Me

Hi, I’m Jayda. I’m a 20 something from Canada. I spent the last few years of my life on Canadas east coast in Fredericton, New Brunswick attending University. I spent four years studying political science and economics. When I started school, I was that typical eager 19-year-old who couldn’t wait to move across the country and start pursuing what I thought was going to be my future. Obviously, things didn’t go quite as to plan as I had hoped. Shocker- I know. But to be fair, there was a lot thrown my direction. I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder and chronic anxiety at the beginning of my second year, and a few months after that we entered a major global pandemic. There was moving, there were friend groups that didn’t quite work out, there was heart break and stolen dogs and new jobs and meeting my estranged father? And literally everything in between. I’m about as grateful for these adversities as a person could be but when I say the world could’ve given a girl a break- sheesh.   When I decided I wanted to take a break from school, I was hard on myself (and I still am) It’s easy to feel like a failure when you make it that far into a degree, and spent that much money on a degree, to not finish it. It’s easy to get into that cycle of what the FUCK am I doing with my life. I was also in a rather toxic relationship with my best friend at the time, and I was not taking care of my mental and physical health the wayI should’ve been. At the end of the day, it was time for a substantial change in my life. When I decided on Australia, it seemed like an obvious choice. Its rather easy to get a working holiday visa, it was going to give me the distance I felt like I needed, and I was able to be somewhere I had no ties to. It’s honestly too easy to get a visa, 500 bucks and a chest x-ray and you’re in.   I worked from January of 2022 to October, and then said goodbye to Fredericton.  It was a hard goodbye because I spent my whole adult life living there, on my own. I had a lot of firsts there. Moved into my first apartment, got my first bartending job, hell I even got chlamydia there for the first time (and hopefully the last).  I’ve spent the last few weeks at home, in Edmonton, Alberta and has it ever been nice spending actual time here with my mom and my siblings before going off on this new journey.  

bottom of page